h1

when 2 lines (and not the rest) of a song capture your whole being…

April 10, 2015

wherever and however you are in your journey in life, do not ever compare yourself to somebody else. try to understand that you have different problems that you face, just like you have different successes that you win. for someone, success could mean getting his dream job after 9 months of search. for you, that would only be the first step of achieving your dream of becoming someone.

you can also think this way. choose a song that you really like. a song that defines your life. a song that embodies what you are going through or have gone through. a song that speaks for you. now, that song in your mind is so good and you are not the only one who loves it. there are hundreds, thousands of other people who also play that very same song in loop the whole day. and like you, that song stands as the soundtrack of their life as well. it speaks for them, too. but you should know, they have a different story than yours.

imagine, eating a banana makes you happy but it makes somebody else sick.

what’s my point? stigmatized. i’ve been a fan of this song since my university days. it is currently playing on the background while i am tapping the keyboard, just so you know. im afraid i dont know the meaning of the song ever since the first time i heard it. i tried to google about it and zoom! people have their own versions of trying to pull a sense out of the lyrics. somebody said it is about a person fighting for a lost love. some say it’s about an illegal love, while others believe it is all about a gay love affair.

definitely, the composer has his reason and inspiration of writing it and the listeners will always have different takes on it. i have my own too, of course. i may not fully get the sense, i tried but i didnt put so much effort in deciphering, but i love the fact that i truly madly honestly enjoy the music. i love the ambience it puts me in and i love the emotions it brings me. this song will always be a track in my fly playlist.

i originally planned to link a video here for easy access, but im not sure if it is my connection that is problematic or it’s the video, or whatsoever. i’ll just copy and paste the lyrics instead.

STIGMATIZED [the calling]

If I give up on you I give up on me
If we fight what’s true, will we ever be
Even God himself and the faith I knew
Shouldn’t hold me back, shouldn’t keep me from you
[Chorus:]
Tease me, by holding out your hand
Then leave me, or take me as i am
And live our lives, stigmatized
I can feel the blood rushing through my veins
When i hear your voice, driving me insane
Hour after hour day after day
Every lonely night that i sit and pray
[Chorus]
We live our lives on different sides,
But we keep together you and I
Just live our lives, stigmatized
We’ll live our lives,
We’ll take the punches everyday
We’ll live our lives
I know we’re gonna find our way
I believe in you
Even if no one understands
I believe in you, and i don’t really give a damn
If we’re stigmatized
We live our lives on different sides
But we keep together you and I
We live our lives on different sides
We gotta live our lives
Gotta live our lives
Were gonna live our lives
We’re gonna live our lives,
Gonna live our lives,
Stigmatized
p.s. my favorite part of the song is the humming in the intro. that’s where the emotions burst the most. (whutt?)
#donttracethedotsinmostofmywords #youwillendupdisappointed #whatamisaying
p.s. of p.s. isn’t that weird? you listen to a new song.. there is a couple of lines that you like the most and because of those lines, that song is now your “national anthem” though it doesnt really speak for you in whole. who’s with me?
#STOP
Leave a Reply

